Poll: Would you buy a book like this for your autistic child?

I’ve had quite a bit of interest in the book I created for my son that told him he has autism. So much so that I’m thinking of offering the service to others: Creating highly personalised books that introduce a child to their autism. The book would include photos and wording based around the child’s own life and family and experiences, put into a template that I’ve already created. The general idea behind the book is teaching the child that everyone has differences, and autism is their own “special difference.”

I’ve done various costings and am thinking now of putting the money into the start-up costs. But before I take that financial step, I wanted to get a better gauge of the level of interest in such a book.

At first I’d focus on the New Zealand market – which keeps costs low and payment simple – so I have two polls below to help me figure out if this will work or not; an international poll and a national (NZ) poll. The cost of the final product would likely be between $20 and $30 (NZ dollars, inclusive of postage). Please only say “yes” in the poll if you honestly would consider buying the book in that price range. I ask that if you have any comments about the idea, that you share those through the comments section too; perhaps the idea would be more attractive if it was modified in some way..?

I’m thinking about producing one (or more) free trial books to get feedback too (free except postage, and only available to New Zealanders at this stage). If you would be interested in helping me with that trial phase, then let me know that via the comments (by commenting I will be able to see your email but the public won’t). If you express interest in a free copy I would hold onto your email to let you know when (if) the books become available for general sale too, so please do not put your hand up for a free copy unless you are genuinely interested in being contacted further about the book via email.

I don’t know whether I’ll ultimately go ahead with this idea or not – I really would like to – but this polling is a good place for me to begin figuring out if it’s worth the cost and time.

Thanks for your help!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Resources for Parents and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Poll: Would you buy a book like this for your autistic child?

  1. Shazza says:

    I think it’s a fantastic idea. Feel free to come into the FB group I run for parents who choose ABA to get more opinions. It has over 120 members so far from around the world (mostly Oz) who would make a great focus group 🙂 Let me know if you are interested and I will add you. xx

  2. usethebrainsgodgiveyou says:

    I might have bought it 10-15 years ago, ha! I think Amazon has a thing where you can do a “trial run” and sell it on Kindle only for a very reasonable price–$2.99 or so, but I’m not sure what it would do to your copyright rights and such. Dr. Dorothy Bishop, who works with our kids, did that with a mystery novel that I really enjoyed. Like I said, though, I have NO idea how it works.

  3. Just wanted to say I love your blog and that this is a fantastic idea.

  4. I posted links to all three parts of the story at the Facebook page for The Thinking Person’s Gude to Autism, http://www.facebook.com/thinkingpersonsguidetoautism/posts/334273743320969

    People often comment there rather than clicking through to the original post.

  5. Matty Angel says:

    =) I really hope you can do it. I have been struggling with how to publish a book for a longggg time. No one to show me. So if you do, mind emailing me how you did it exactly.

    http://www.mattyangel.com/2012/03/12/my-huge-project-slowly-revealed-big-news/ here’s my illustrated book and story sitting on my desk. Only first two pages illustrated.

  6. Matty Angel says:

    I mean I am only showing the first two pages illustrated 🙂 I have all the illustrations on my computer though.

    Sorry if sometimes my words don’t come across clear. The one thing I hate about comments is the lack of edit button.

    • That is an awesome looking book Matty Angel! I haven’t got all the pieces in place for making the books yet, but it’s likely I’d have to buy my own binding machine amongst other materials. If I get the project off the ground, I will let you know how! 🙂

  7. naelchatel says:

    I’m not sure what it would do to your copyright rights and such. Dr. Dorothy Bishop, who works with our kids

Share your thoughts:

