The stats and a review, of my first year of blogging

It’s been a year since I started this blog, about autism and my autistic son (who is now six years old).

Blogging Research Wordle

Image by Kristina B via Flickr

In that first year, my blog got 33, 714 hits, the largest proportion of those originate from the USA. My most viewed post is “Violence, Autism & Bad Parenting.” That is not my own favourite post (far from it), but it does seem to be the post that brought me to the attention of Ele Ludemann from Homepaddock, who went on to mention my blog and that post in her regular spot on Radio New Zealand, back in February.

Prior to that piece of public attention, my blogging managed to get me a one-off spot on a nationwide TV show discussing autism, “Letters to Lindsey,” which was a fantastic and new experience for me. I have the piece on DVD but never figured out how to put it up on my blog, and had reservations about doing so because I try to protect my son’s identity where I can. I still struggle with the question of how much I should allow people to know about me and my son via this blog, and the issue of whether and how it might impact on my son’s adult future.

One of my favourite posts that I’ve written, does manage to come in at third most popular; “Socialization as a reason to mainstream special needs children.”

The top site referer to my blog is Facebook, where I have a page for my blog with 89 fans. The third top referer is Twitter, where I also have an account, with 241 followers. The top commenter on my blog, is Sharon. The post most commented on is the one about Marijuana and Autism. The most popular search term bringing people to my site is “autism and oughtisms” (nice to know they intended to and did find me). Second most popular term is “autism violence” (the third is “autism and violence”) thus leading to the top post I mentioned at the start. Which is sad; that so many people come to my blog seeking a discussion of autism and violence.

Very early on in this blogging adventure, I started the search for other blogs by parents raising autistic children. The first one that really grabbed me, and continues to be one I check in on almost everyday, is Autism Jabberwocky. The blogger I have perhaps learnt the most from, and who has most influenced my attitudes over this past year, would by Kim Wombles from Countering. There is no blogger who I agree with 100% of the time, but the one who comes closest, is Sharon from The Tumultuous Truth. The autism science blogger who I find most interesting (and importantly, accessible) is Jon at Cracking the Enigma.

I’ve mostly enjoyed blogging over the past year, but at times I’ve had enough of the bickering and misunderstandings and pressure. I kept at it because of the learning, friendships, and new perspectives that come from being engaged with blogging. I’m quite happy and proud of my blog on the whole. I’ve been given – and taken – the opportunities to share posts on others’ sites too, such as Autism and Empathy, About Autism, and Teaching the Teacher (links to those and other guest posts I’ve done, can be found here.)

So yeah, it’s been a busy and mostly good blogging year. A year from now I’ll be reading this post again to see how much has changed and in what ways.

Thank you to everyone who has been part of my blogging adventure thus far.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Re blogging about Autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The stats and a review, of my first year of blogging

  1. Kim Wombles says:

    Congrats on the year! It flew by; it seems like just yesterday that I first read your blog. Thank you for the kind words; the other bloggers you mention offer quite a variety and are excellent company to be in.

  2. Jon Brock says:

    Happy Birthday!! And thanks for the mention.

    My favourite blogpost was the Last Placing Winner. Just between you and me it did bring a little bit of a tear to my eye.

    https://autismandoughtisms.wordpress.com/2011/08/20/the-last-placing-winner/

  3. Sharon says:

    Yes I agree with Jon. That was a beautiful post. But I enjoy reading all your posts.

    Thank you so much for the mention.

  4. MJ says:

    Congrats on your first year and thanks for the mention.

  5. Tsara says:

    Just one year old? Your very mature for your age! I’m so glad that you keep it up and I look forward to another year of insights and learning’s. I think the first post of yours I ever read was ‘The Crying Stranger in the Playground’. You created such a visual picture with your words that it’s still one of the ones I remember the clearest. And, of course, I loved the Last Placing Winner, too! Lovely! My boys are barely autistic–my youngest still has sensory issues (he throws up when he see’s people with pale skin) and my thirteen year old has only recently gained the ability to keep his clothes on for an entire day– but one of my brothers is still very low functioning. Autism looms large in our world, thank you for your friendship!

    https://autismandoughtisms.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/the-crying-stranger-in-the-playground/

  6. David V says:

    On Google, if you search on “autism and violence”, your blog article is the first search result. It may not be your own favorite article, but there are seldom worse days with a child with autism than when your little angel has become a snarling, attacking animal and, truly, nobody much talks about the issue. At my son’s quarterly parent-teacher conference, it was topic #1, and I was surprised when she said that violent behavior was quite common. I plan on adding your Facebook page so I can keep up with you from now on.

    • Welcome to my blog David (and my Facebook page). And an interesting point about autism and violence; I may revisit the issue considering the level of interest in the topic.

      • Tsara says:

        I’m so glad David mentioned this unfortunate reality. My mom is often called in to work with very violent teens and adults, her reputation for being comfortable working with and teaching away these behaviors is sort of a burden and a gift. She travels the world and has said that both violence and inappropriate sexual behavior are prevalent but rarely talked about. So unfortunate! How can we learn from or teach to anything if we aren’t willing to talk about it?? Please do revisit the topic Linda! And I have to admit that I’m glad it’s your words that pop up first when violence and autism are googled. Whether or not people agree with your assessments on the issues, no one can argue that you aren’t fair, open minded, intelligent and open for conversation!

      • Thank you as ever for your kind words Tsara xxx

Share your thoughts:

