Autism Blogger Attitude Quiz

Circle-question

Image via Wikipedia

I came across a rather extreme autism blog today, that inspired me to create an “Autism Bloggers Attitude Quiz”.

The blog I’d discovered was so surreal, that I initially thought it was a joke. (If you want to discover what the blog was, you’ll just have to do the test – one of the results reveals it). After further research, I realised it was for real, and it got me thinking about the huge diversity in attitudes that you come across as an autism blogger. Over the months since I started blogging, I have noticed various trends about attitudes towards autism amongst bloggers, and decided to put them together in this quiz.

You can find and take the quiz, here.

The particularly interesting aspect of this whole exercise, was that I honestly had no firm idea of what attitude category I would fall within. I wrote and published the quiz without knowing my result. So I was particularly amused when my result was this:

Autism Blogger Attitude Quiz
Your Result: Meta-Blogger
Chances are you’ve been blogging about autism for a while. You understand that a lot of the debates within the autism community turn on definitions and subtle nuances. You possibly think a sense of community is more important than having answers to all the questions. You also probably think I am horrid for creating this quiz in the first place.
Result Breakdown:
80% Meta-Blogger
78% Moderate
60% Curebie
50% Neurodiverse

If you decide to take the test, let me know either in the comments of this post, or in this poll, what your result was:

And what you thought of the quiz:

Please note that there was no ill intent involved in creating this quiz. If it particularly offends or upsets you, do let me know, and I’ll seriously consider removing it from the site. I probably haven’t been blogging long enough to have my thoughts about such issues taken too seriously either way, be assured that I do know that!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Re blogging about Autism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Autism Blogger Attitude Quiz

  1. Sharon says:

    I scored Neurodiverse, which surprised me a little.

    • Thanks for taking the quiz and letting me know your result!

      If people think the quiz is turning out results that drastically vary from their own perceived attitude, then it would be a good sign that my own perception of people’s attitudes is also off base. It will be interesting to see what people think of their own results.

  2. KWombles says:

    I wanna know the blog that started you on this! 🙂

    Autism Blogger Attitude Quiz
    Your Result: Meta-Blogger

    Chances are you’ve been blogging about autism for a while. You understand that a lot of the debates within the autism community turn on definitions and subtle nuances. You possibly think a sense of community is more important than having answers to all the questions. You also probably think I am horrid for creating this quiz in the first place.

    Neurodiverse

    Moderate

    Curebie

  3. KWombles says:

    Hah, changed the answers to see!

  4. MJ says:

    Some of your questions need better answers.

    Like for number 10 I would say autism blogging is about providing accurate and unbiased information, not debunking bad science and misinformation.

    Or for number 9 – the heroes are the individuals with autism, their families, and the professionals who are work in the field.

    Or number 5 needs an answer between “yes, all” and “doubtful maybe sometimes it is.”

    But at least the quiz was entertaining. Just my moderate 2 cents worth.

    • Hi MJ.

      I suspect people always feel that way about tests – that they don’t provide all the options they would have liked. My aim with the test was to capture the variations among the blogging community, placed into options that could help categorise someone’s general attitude towards autism and blogging about autism. To that end, I wouldn’t change number 9, number 5 is still probably OK since it allows for a middle view even if not representing all middle views, and probably a fair point about 10, the people who feel that will probably select that existing option anyway so it shouldn’t distort the result.

      I do appreciate your 2 cents worth 🙂

  5. mamafog says:

    I’m a Meta-blogger also. It was interesting to see the fundamental arguments in the autism community presented in a simple multiple choice format. There was a response that felt right for each question, I don’t always feel like that with these kinds of quizzes. I don’t think you are horrid for creating the quiz. But I do wonder what you were hoping to learn by trying to further define the divide.

    I think we are forming our own communities based on the answers we are seeking. I don’t think there will ever be a rainbow and unicorns moment when the entire community starts to work together and think the same things. But I wonder if we could make the atmosphere less us versus them, if we all became even a little more tolerant of opinions that we don’t agree with. I see the same arguments play out on blogs and forums, no one budges from their position and each side seems personally offended that the other side has an opinion contrary to theirs.

    I also wonder about the things that autism blogs have in common – advocacy, passionate beliefs in ideas, outreach, journaling…

    • I love your “rainbow and unicorns” reference, and largely agree with everything you’ve said here (which probably isn’t too surprising since we both came out as meta-bloggers..?).

      What was I hoping to learn by further defining the divide? It was a multi-function exercise. After seeing the extreme blog I mentioned in the post, I got thinking about the extremities and the middle grounds of attitudes towards autism and blogging about autism. I wanted to attempt to pull together my observations about those differences, and trends I see within those differences, and see whether I could bring something coherent or largely correct from doing so. I thought a good way to collate it, and potentially test the theory, was to put it into a quiz. Plus I’d never created a quiz before so I thought it might be fun to do one 😀

  6. Melissa says:

    I took the quiz, though I don’t have my own blog. There’s nothing saying I won’t in the future… there’s just no time at present..

    Autism Blogger Attitude Quiz
    Your Result: Moderate

    You don’t really belong to a particular movement among the autism blogging community. You’re open-minded and accepting of the diversity of views about the Spectrum. You’re probably directly related to an autistic person, and might be new to this whole autism and blogging thing.

    • Melissa says:

      And moderate does sum it up for me, because i don’t get caught up in the divide much. I don’t always agree with either side (are there only really two? I don’t really think so) but I have my own opinions. It makes taking a multiple choice quiz hard, because there are no easy answers.

      • On what you’ve just said in those two comments, I’d agree that Moderate does match you best out of the four options I put together 🙂

        Thanks for taking the quiz and letting me know your result!

  7. Rachel says:

    Here’s what I got:

    Chances are you’ve been blogging about autism for a while. You understand that a lot of the debates within the autism community turn on definitions and subtle nuances. You possibly think a sense of community is more important than having answers to all the questions. You also probably think I am horrid for creating this quiz in the first place.

    Neurodiverse: 65%
    Curebie: 23%
    Moderate: 14%

    I’m surprised that my Curebie score came out higher than my Moderate score, but I think that had to do with the either/or nature of some of the questions. If there had been some “both/and” choices, the Moderate score would have come out ahead. I don’t even engage the cure question much anymore; it’s kind of like arguing about what to do with 10 million dollars. Fun times, but until I have 10 million dollars, I don’t really see the point.

    I’m not sure what “Neurodiverse” means in this context, unless it’s a synonym for “Respecting autistic people as autistic people,” which is pretty much where I stand.

    And no, I don’t think you’re horrid for having put together this quiz. 🙂

    • Hi Rachel. Thanks for taking the quiz, and for providing the feedback too. Just so you know, the result for “neurodiverse” in my quiz, is worded this way:

      “You are part of the neurodiverse crowd. You think autism is part of the spectrum of humanity, and probably see autism as a beautiful thing, to be understood and embraced, rather than feared and changed.”

      • Rachel says:

        “You are part of the neurodiverse crowd. You think autism is part of the spectrum of humanity, and probably see autism as a beautiful thing, to be understood and embraced, rather than feared and changed.”

        Hmmm… That really doesn’t describe me. I see autism in a positive light in some circumstances — probably in more circumstances than other people do, because I don’t expect life to be an easy thing for anyone — but not always. I’m aware that there are severely autistic people who simply suffer unbearably, and for whom no accommodations make any difference, and I don’t see that there is anything redemptive or beautiful in that at all. If others can find the beauty in that, okay, I’m willing to let people have their say, but that’s not how I see it.

        A one-size-fits-all thinker, I’m not, especially when it comes to autism.

      • That makes sense then for why my quiz placed you more as a meta-blogger than belonging to the neurodiverse category (as I presented it – and avoiding at this point a big discussion about defining neurodiversity, that’s a whole separate kettle of fish that can’t be fully addressed in a comment. There are extremes within even the neurodiversity movement, so perhaps the 65% score you got for neurodiversity was representative of that diversity..? Perhaps the subject of a future post… or quiz!)

  8. Bill says:

    I am endowed with Asperger’s.

    I scored neurodiverse.

    I could not answer #9. I do not believe any of the choices represented heroism. (I set a VERY high bar on heroism.)

    • Fair comment Bill 🙂

      The question was heroism within the context of the autism community, but I still respect and understand your comment. It was an intentionally contentious question. It came from my observations about certain sectors of the autism blogging community tending to talk up or talk down the importance of the views of parents, autistic people, scientists, etc.

  9. KDL says:

    I scored moderate, which I think makes sense, except the bit about being new to this. I’ve been dealing with it for 7 years, though only 3 knowingly, and blogging for more than 2. I think the more I learn the more moderate I get, actually. There’s just such a huge picture to try to take in when it comes to autism that it’s hard for me to nail it down sometimes. Like the “would you cure someone if the cure was available?” I know one kid for sure that I would cure in a heartbeat. His parents are beaten down and miserable. For my own kid, I’m not sure. There are some parts I would love to see cured, and other parts that I think are fabulous, and overall she is happy and so are we, so is a cure needed — or just more understanding?

  10. Aspergirl Maybe says:

    I have to admit I took it several times because I wanted to see the different answers that would come up – I think the quiz was fairly well-done, although of course there were some questions that I either didn’t like any of the answers or I liked more than one.

    I would say I’m somewhere between moderate and meta blogger in my views, which is representative of the shift in my attitudes over the last few months as my own personal journey has been refocused. I don’t think I’ll ever be neurodiverse as you have defined it here, but I would like to think that I fit into the more conservative/accept-people-as-they-come end of that category.

Share your thoughts:

