I almost love you…

Love Heart symbol

Image via Wikipedia

My husband and I decided to visit my mother at her work earlier this week. She’d been away over the Easter break and I was keen to catch up. So we set about getting the children ready, which of course includes explaining carefully to my autistic son (the eldest son at five years old) about where we were going. I told him we were going to visit Grandma, then decided I’d throw in a little treat for her. I coached him to give her a greeting that would make her smile. I told him that when he saw her he should give her a big hug, and big kiss, and tell her “I love you Grandma!” He smiled and agreed to do this, and so the plan was set and off we went.

Everything was going well once we arrived. My mum was pleased to see us and the boys quickly became involved in tearing around everyone’s offices – my eldest searched for clocks and the youngest decided magnets were a reachable joy. Eventually we gathered them into my mother’s office to keep the chaos to a minimum, and then without any coaxing or reminders, my son began what I’d coached him to do.

He gave my mother the biggest hug around her legs.

He did his best to give her his clumsy but heart-felt kiss.

And then he started trying to do the words…

“I love…”

Pauses as his eyes roam the upper walls.

“I love…”

Me waiting patiently and happily, waiting for the lovely words directed at my mother.

His eyes still moving around the room as he thinks this through…

“I love you… office!”

Close enough 🙂

Gallery | This entry was posted in The Lighter Side of Autism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I almost love you…

  1. nostromo says:

    I didn’t see that one coming; I LOLed 🙂

    • Yay! 😀

      We hadn’t seen it coming at the time either, and all went into laughter. I don’t think my son knew why we were all laughing, but he didn’t seem to mind either; he was quite happy 🙂

Share your thoughts:

