Laughter

My children’s laughter is the panacea for my hardest day. Just hearing either of them laughing puts the world in perspective. I can make my youngest laugh so much that he can’t stay standing, just by saying the words “yuck yuck yuck” in quick succession, or reading him a page from his favourite book which tells him that “babies are messy eaters” (and yes they surely are). My eldest is a bit harder to get going, but once he’s really guffawing it rolls out in the most magical sound. His latest bound-to-lead-to-giggles, is when I insert the words “bottom clock” randomly into his night-time story (it’s a long story – the bottom clock explanation that is, not the night-time book).

And of course, they both make me laugh too. My youngest is frankly hilarious. Fifteen month olds are truly awesome (well, sixteen months as of today, but who’s counting). My eldest usually makes me laugh by accident, with his unusual communications. I’m going to share two recent ones with you, so that maybe the laughter can colour your day that little bit better too.

This first one is from a conversation we were having about a clock I’d just bought him:

  • Son: “Digital alarm clock goes ‘BRING BRING BRING!'”
  • Me: “No, it’s a quiet one.”
  • Son: “Quiet alarm clock goes ‘QUIET QUIET QUIET!'”

And a fun little one he randomly shared with me as we walked up the stairs to his bedroom the other night:

  • Son: “C O C K spells clock!”

🙂

Gallery | This entry was posted in Clocks, The Lighter Side of Autism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laughter

  1. KWombles says:

    Laughter makes the world run and sets things back to right. And it’s infectious, which is even better. I’m 42 and still have giggle fits where I get started and can’t stop (and my dad at 71 still has giggle fits). When the kids get started here, everyone’s smiling and happy at the end. 🙂

  2. sandrine says:

    ‘Bottom clock’ sounds like the kind of thing that would have me giggling too. But then again I don’t have a particularly refined sense of humour! Laughing is a bit of a sore point in our home, as Max doesn’t react too well to other people laughing, giggling, or sometimes even smiling. We don’t know why. We’ve tried to deal with it but so far without success.

    • That’s a bit sad sandrine. My son used to find other people’s tears amusing, then as he got older he found them rather terrifying and they’d set him off towards a meltdown. He’s better with it now. I saw it is an issue of him not being able to understand emotions – reading people’s faces can be confusing. I’ve spent years trying to teach him to recognise emotion and I think it’s had a positive impact on him – first with identifying the emotion, and then with knowing how to respond to it. I don’t know if that’s what your son is struggling with (if he is, you might find the resources mentioned in this earlier post of mine helpful). Otherwise maybe it’s a auditory sensory issue; laughter is perhaps just one of those sounds that upsets him..? Either way, whatever’s causing it, I hope it passes in time, that must be quite upsetting. I wish I had answers for you. Maybe someone else reading this will have more suggestions. All the best.

Share your thoughts:

