These little wonders, these twists and turns of fate

Today, as I took photos of my son playing with the flowers in our backyard, I suddenly realised he was staring at something sitting on his hand. A small, scared little praying mantis had found its way to the tip of his finger. At first I thought it must have been on one of the flowers he picked, but going back through the photos I realised I’d captured its progress from the ground, up his leg, to the flower he was holding in his little five year-old fingers.

He asked if he could touch it with his other hand, and I said no, just hold still if you can because it’s scared right now. And he did. We both watched it, as it watched us with those beautiful alien eyes. And I realised how much my son was like this little wonder. He’s found himself in a world that doesn’t quite make sense (on my son’s finger, away from home). What he needs is caring minds and gentle hands to guide him through it safely.

We watched it for a while, I encouraged my son to feel the experience as much as possible. Then we got it safely back to the nearby flowers where it most likely had come from.

It was quite a special time, and I felt its symbolism would go well as a new header for my blog. And so that is where it is now. Hope you like it 🙂

This entry was posted in Attitudes to Autism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to These little wonders, these twists and turns of fate

  1. KDL says:

    nice picture and nice analogy!

Share your thoughts:

